Delanté Fludd Awarded Stephen J. Trachtenberg Scholarship

On March 20th, 2013, Thurgood Marshall Academy’s Junior and Senior Classes entered the gym assuming they would be attending a normal assembly. As Ms. Pardo started to talk to students about the boundaries of an upcoming Senior Prank they tensed, but quickly called her bluff when they saw George Washington University’s “George” mascot enter the gym with the GWU President, Steven Knapp and Director of Admissions, Karen Felton. The bleachers broke out in congratulatory shouts and applause as Delanté Fludd was awarded the Stephen J. Trachtenberg scholarship (SJT), an honor which provides full funding for Delanté to attend George Washington University, and become a 2017 graduate of the university.

The SJT scholarship, named for former GW President Stephen J. Trachtenberg, has been awarded to 140 students since the program was established 24 years ago. The mission of the scholarship program is to provide graduates of DC public schools with financial support to attend GW. In addition to this funding, the SJT Scholar Program offers their GW Scholars professional development opportunities and coordinates their involvement in service-oriented community programs.

Delanté is one of eight students to receive the honor this year and states, “Days later I still can’t wrap my head around the award, but I am very honored and I’d like to sincerely thank my teachers and staff for ALWAYS pushing me.” At GW, he plans to further explore his interest in theater, and possibly dance and Spanish. Additionally, Delanté is enthusiastic about the potential of studying abroad during his college career.

Delanté will advance the tradition of Thurgood Marshall Academy alumni who have become SJT Scholars. Moo Ho Bae II (’11), Markus Batchelor (’11), and Dayna Hudson (‘09), are GW “Colonials”, who will not only help Delanté in his transition to college, but will also be able to share their unique experiences as a part of the SJT Scholar Program. Thurgood Marshall Academy was the first charter school in DC to have a SJT scholarship winner.

GW’s Coverage of the 2013 SJT Scholarship Recipients