Two Seniors Awarded Stephen J. Trachtenberg Scholarship

In a surprise announcement on March 23, 2011, seniors Moo Ho Bae II and Markus Batchelor received the Stephen J. Trachtenberg scholarship, which provides full funding to George Washington University. Steven Knapp, GWU’s President, along with representatives from the admissions staff,surprised them during their lunch period.

The Trachtenberg scholarship is awarded to nine high-achieving seniors from private and public schools in DC who are recommended by their college counselor for their academic and leadership skills. The program provides recipients with tuition, room and board, books, and fees, totaling over $200,000. Thurgood Marshall Academy is the only charter school to have students win this prestigious award.

Both students were completely shocked at the announcement because each thought the other would win. “Having two people from our school win the award was unlikely in my mind,” Markus commented on Channel 7’s coverage of the event. Both students are extremely active in the Thurgood Marshall Academy community and beyond—Markus is Student Body President and was the DC Youth Mayor last year, and Moo is on the debate team, writes for the TMA Brief, and is the 12th grade Class Representative. Both are challenging themselves academically through Advanced Placement and Honors classes.

Moo and Markus will join Dayna Hudson (‘09), the first Thurgood Marshall Academy student to receive the scholarship.

Watch the Channel 7 coverage of the event here!